Clinical studies

What is a clinical study?

 
A clinical study is a scientific study carried out in humans to evaluate the efficacy and tolerance of a product, whether it is a drug, a food supplement, a medical device or a diagnostic test.
It is therefore a necessary step for a new product to be approved, launched on the market and made available to patients.

A clinical study is, of course, only carried out if non-clinical experimental studies (on animal or cell models) have previously shown positive results and a sufficient safety profile for the product to be tested in humans.

A clinical study requires the approval of the ethics committees and the health authorities of the country where it takes place. Ethics committees and authorities ensure that the volunteers’ rights and safety are respected. Studies can only start after they have been approved.

In a clinical study, subjects agree to participate voluntarily by signing an informed consent form and are enrolled by investigators – doctors most of the time.

The investigator follows the volunteer for the entire time the new product is tested and used by the subject. This monitoring is carried out in accordance with a precise protocol approved by the authorities. The study can last several weeks, several months or even several years depending on the product which is tested. The volunteer can leave the study freely at any moment.

A clinical study can be performed on a small number of volunteers or conversely on thousands of people. Many doctors from all over the world can choose to participate as well.

The results of a clinical study are generally published in medical journals and can be used to put together the marketing-authorization application dossier of a product. The anonymity of the volunteers is respected at all times.

Les études cliniques sur l'arthrose

Qu'est-ce qu'une étude clinique ?


Une étude clinique est une étude scientifique réalisée chez l’homme pour évaluer l'efficacité et la tolérance d'un produit, qu'il s'agisse d'un médicament, d'un complément alimentaire, d'un dispositif médical ou encore d'un test diagnostique.
C'est donc une étape indispensable pour qu’un nouveau produit soit approuvé, lancé sur le marché et mis à la disposition des patients.

Bien évidemment, une étude clinique n'est effectuée que si des études expérimentales non-cliniques (sur des modèles animaux ou cellulaires) ont préalablement montré des résultats positifs et un profil de sécurité suffisant pour que le produit soit testé chez l’homme.

Une étude clinique nécessite l'accord des comités d’éthique et des autorités de santé du pays où elle a lieu. Les comités d'éthique et les autorités veillent au respect des droits et à la sécurité des volontaires. Les études ne peuvent démarrer qu'après avoir reçu leur accord.

Dans une étude clinique, des volontaires acceptent de participer librement en signant un formulaire de consentement éclairé puis sont enrôlés/inclus par des investigateurs, le plus souvent des médecins.

L’investigateur suit le volontaire pendant toute la durée de prise ou de test du nouveau produit. Ce suivi se fait selon un protocole précis approuvé par les autorités. La durée d’étude peut s’étendre sur quelques semaines, plusieurs mois ou plusieurs années en fonction du produit testé. Le volontaire peut quitter l'étude librement à tout moment.

Une étude clinique peut se faire sur un petit nombre de volontaires ou à l’inverse sur des milliers de personnes. De très nombreux médecins peuvent y participer ainsi que de différents pays.

Les résultats d’une étude clinique sont généralement publiés dans des revues médicales et peuvent servir à établir le dossier de demande de mise sur le marché d’un produit. L'anonymat des volontaires est à tout moment respecté.