Word of the chairman

Word from the chairman

 

Osteoarthritis affects us all! 

 
P1030898.JPGBy 2050, 315 million individuals over the age of 60 will suffer from osteoarthritis, including 100 million that will have a severe disability related to this disease.

Osteoarthritis is a joint disease, but also a risk factor for many other diseases associated with aging, such as type II diabetes or cardiovascular diseases. It is therefore a complex, disabling disease with significant socio-economic repercussions. It will need to be well taken care of in order to reduce its impact on society.


Ensuring a proper treatment of osteoarthritis means improving the quality of life of the elderly! It is time to take action so that this disease is better considered by health professionals, but also by the public authorities.

We must fight against misconceptions and harmful beliefs. Osteoarthritis is an old person’s disease; there is nothing we can do about it. False! Many patients think that physical activity is bad for their joints. False! Osteoarthritis is a fatality. False again!

As of now, the management of patients with osteoarthritis is still insufficient and inadequate. Comprehensive and multidisciplinary care that incorporates recent knowledge of osteoarthritis is necessary. In addition, funding for basic research dedicated to this disease is insufficient in Belgium. Researchers need to be given more resources to help them better understand osteoarthritis, to diagnose it earlier and to develop effective treatments.

For all these reasons we established the Osteoarthritis Foundation in July 2015. We want to support basic research on this disease that affects us all. Concretely, we will award prizes to meritorious researchers and fund original research projects as well as trips abroad for researchers. We will organize information and awareness campaigns in order to prevent osteoarthritis and thus reduce the disability it causes. We will not only inform patients, but also physicians about recent discoveries, including scientific findings. We also plan to advocate for patients’ interests before the relevant health authorities.

 

Join us in this adventure!

 

Pr Yves Henrotin
Osteoarthritis patient

Chairman of the Osteoarthritis Foundation


Translated from French by G. Johnen, 1st year Master's student in translation at the ULg

Mot du Président

Le mot du Président

 

L’arthrose, elle nous concerne tous ! P1030898.JPG

 
En 2050, 315 millions de personnes souffriront d’arthrose et, parmi eux,

plus de 100 millions présenteront un handicap sévère lié à cette maladie.

L’arthrose est une maladie des articulations, mais aussi un facteur de risque de nombreuses autres maladies associées au vieillissement, comme par exemple le diabète de type II ou encore les maladies cardio-vasculaires. Il s’agit donc d’une maladie complexe, invalidante et avec des répercussions socio-économiques importantes. Elle devra être bien prise en charge pour réduire son impact sociétal.

Bien soigner l’arthrose, c’est améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes âgées !
Il est temps d’agir pour que cette maladie soit mieux considérée par les professionnels de la santé, mais également par les pouvoirs publics.

Il faut lutter contre les idées reçues et les croyances délétères. L’arthrose est une maladie de vieux, il n’y a rien à faire. Faux ! Beaucoup de patients pensent que l’activité physique est mauvaise pour les articulations. Faux!  L’arthrose est une fatalité. Encore faux !

A l’heure actuelle, la prise en charge des patients arthrosiques est insuffisante et inadaptée. Une prise en charge globale et pluridisciplinaire intégrant les connaissances récentes sur l’arthrose est nécessaire. De plus, le financement de la recherche fondamentale dédiée à cette maladie est insuffisant en Belgique. Il faut donner plus de moyens aux chercheurs pour les aider à mieux comprendre l’arthrose, à la diagnostiquer plus tôt et à développer des traitements efficaces.

C’est pour toutes ces raisons que nous avons créé, en juillet 2015, la Fondation Arthrose. Nous souhaitons soutenir la recherche fondamentale sur cette maladie qui nous concerne tous. Concrètement, nous remettrons des prix à des chercheurs méritants et financerons des projets de recherche originaux ainsi que des séjours à l’étranger pour des chercheurs. Nous organiserons des campagnes d’information et de sensibilisation dans le but de prévenir l’arthrose et de réduire ainsi son handicap. Nous informerons non seulement les patients, mais aussi les médecins à propos des découvertes récentes, notamment sur le plan scientifique. Nous envisageons également de défendre les intérêts des patients auprès des instances compétentes en matière de santé.

Rejoignez-nous dans cette aventure !


Pr Yves Henrotin
Patient arthrosique
Président de la Fondation Arthrose